Investment and franking evidence pack
Audit trail & calculation evidence
A rendered example of the investment and franking evidence pack SMSF Core generates: the same sections, in the same order, over the public sample fund's figures. A real pack is a read-only, point-in-time snapshot, generated once and never edited, delivered as PDF and BGL/Class CSV with an account-free auditor link.
- Fund
- Walker Family Super Fund (sample)
- ABN
- Not applicable, sample fund
- Reporting period
- 1 July 2025 to 5 July 2026 (sample window)
- Pack reference
- AP-SAMPLE-001 (sample)
- Figures as at
- 5 July 2026
Boundary
1.What this pack covers
This pack is evidence for part of an SMSF audit: the fund's listed holdings and the franked income attached to them, and the fund's own records of its property, contributions, member balances and pensions, reproduced as the trustee recorded them. It is not a complete SMSF audit file, and it is not a substitute for one.
In this pack
- The parcel ledger: every holding on record with its acquisition date, units and cost base.
- Dividend events in the period, with franking percentage, corporate tax rate and PCG 2025/3 zone.
- Per-parcel 45-day holding results, with the franking credit, gross-up and tax offset for each match.
- The ATO source cited for every rule applied, with a link to the source text.
- Calculation provenance: the engine version behind the figures, the snapshot hash and the record counts.
- Trust and partnership distributions, where the fund records them.
- The trustee's Division 296 records, where the fund keeps them, reproduced as held.
- The property register as recorded: acquisition and LRBA flag, the year's valuation with its evidence kind, leases, rent periods received or not, outgoings and capital works, each with its record id and recorded date.
- Contributions and member balances as recorded: concessional and non-concessional totals for the year, the cap position the caps module computes from those records, and the latest recorded member balance.
- Pension accounts as recorded: the opening balance, the minimum the pension module computes, payments recorded and the remainder.
- An evidence completeness line for each property, member and pension account: which expected items are on the fund's register and which are missing.
Not in this pack
- Bank account reconciliation. Contributions, pension payments and rent are listed as recorded, not as reconciled to the fund's bank statements.
- Member balance reconciliation against the fund's accounts. The pack reproduces the balances the trustee recorded and nothing else.
- Pension payment bank evidence and the exempt-income consequence of a shortfall.
- CGT disposals and capital gains calculations.
- Fund expenses other than the property outgoings recorded in the property register.
- Related-party transactions, in-house asset testing and collectables. A lease marked related-party is reproduced as a flag only.
- Limited recourse borrowing arrangement loan records and loan compliance. The pack records only whether a property was acquired under an LRBA.
- Market valuations of assets other than property. Property valuations appear as the trustee recorded them; the pack does not value anything.
- ECPI calculations and actuarial certificates. The parcel ledger shows only the segregation tag the trustee recorded against each parcel.
- Trustee minutes and investment strategy documents.
An auditor draws those areas from the fund's other records. Nothing here reports on them, and nothing here is to be read as covering them.
Disclosures
2.Important notices
IMPORTANT NOTICES
SMSF Core is general information only and not a licensed financial service (AFSL). Independent SMSF audit and SMSF Annual Return lodgement remain the trustee's legal responsibilities under the SIS Act 1993 and the Income Tax Assessment Act 1997.
All calculations cite specific Australian Taxation Office sources. Trustees and auditors are responsible for verifying calculation inputs and applying professional judgement to interpretation.
SMSF Core does not provide investment advice, tax advice, or recommendations about whether to buy, hold, or sell any financial product. SMSF Core reports factual calculations based on data the trustee provides.
A real pack records in section 10 when each cited ATO source was last verified and the corpus version the figures were checked against. The sample makes no verification claim.
Holdings
3.Parcel ledger
| Ticker | Acquired | Units | Status | Cost base / unit |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| CBA | 12 Mar 2019 | 400 | Qualified | $70.85 |
| BHP | 2 Nov 2021 | 900 | Qualified | $37.12 |
| VAS | 17 May 2022 | 650 | Qualified | $88.90 |
| VAS | 20 June 2026 | 300 | At risk | $102.40 |
| WES | 24 Aug 2020 | 500 | Qualified | $46.30 |
| FPH | 9 Feb 2023 | 800 | Qualified | $23.85 |
| IAG | 1 Oct 2024 | 1,200 | Qualified | $7.45 |
Franked income events
4.Dividend events
| Code | Ex-div | Record | Payment | Cash/unit | Franking % | PCG 2025/3 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| VAS | 1 July 2026 | 2 July 2026 | 16 July 2026 | $0.98 | 70% | Green zone |
| FPH | 11 June 2026 | 12 June 2026 | 3 July 2026 | $0.23 | 65% | Green zone |
| VAS | 1 Apr 2026 | 2 Apr 2026 | 16 Apr 2026 | $1.43 | 72% | Green zone |
| BHP | 5 Mar 2026 | 6 Mar 2026 | 26 Mar 2026 | $1.02 | 100% | Green zone |
| WES | 26 Feb 2026 | 27 Feb 2026 | 31 Mar 2026 | $0.96 | 100% | Green zone |
| CBA | 18 Feb 2026 | 19 Feb 2026 | 27 Mar 2026 | $2.55 | 100% | Green zone |
| IAG | 11 Feb 2026 | 12 Feb 2026 | 11 Mar 2026 | $0.12 | 60% | Amber zone |
| CBA | 20 Aug 2025 | 21 Aug 2025 | 26 Sept 2025 | $2.50 | 100% | Green zone |
ITAA 1997 §207-45
5.45-day holding status & franking detail
The featured sample dividend (VAS ex-div 1 July 2026, 70% franked) matched LIFO across two parcels, one qualified and one still inside its 45-day window. A real pack carries this detail for every dividend in the period.
Dividend summary
- Cash dividend received
- $931.00
- Franking credit gross-up
- $279.30
- Grossed-up assessable income
- $1,210.30
- Tax offset claimable
- $191.10
- Tax offset forfeited
- $0.00
- Not yet determined (45-day window open)
- $88.20
Parcel matching (LIFO)
2 parcels matched · ITAA 1936 s 160APHI(4)| Parcel | Units | Held | Status | Franking | ATO source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| P-demo-p-v VAS | 650 | 17 May 2022 1506 days before ex-div | Qualified 1510/45 days | $191.10 | |
| P-demo-p-v VAS | 300 | 20 June 2026 11 days before ex-div | At risk 15/45 days | $88.20 |
Integrity checks
- Dividend washing check (s 207-157)Not computed
- Capital-raising-funded distribution (PCG 2025/3)Green zone
- Small-shareholder exemption (s 160APHT)N/A (SMSF)
- NALI check (s 295-550)Not computed
- Residency (s 207-70)Not computed
- 45-day at-risk holding (s 160APHO)At-risk parcels present
At-risk means a parcel has not yet met the 45-day holding requirement around the ex-dividend date, so its franking offset may not apply if sold early. The pre-trade simulator shows the earliest safe sale date per parcel.
Register, as recorded
6.Property register as recorded
Records reproduced as the trustee recorded them at generation time. Nothing here is valued, estimated or reconciled by SMSF Core.
Market value basis: SIS Reg 8.02B market value; ATO valuation guidelines. Rent periods are expected up to 5 July 2026. Evidence expectations evaluated for FY 2026-27.
Property evidence, all properties: 2 of 4 items present: insurance certificate, lease or rent evidence; missing: valuation, loan statement
Expected items come from the evidence expectations engine for the fund's shape; present items are documents on the fund's register, satisfied evidence requests, and valuation or rent records that carry evidence.
42 Kembla Street, Wollongong NSW 2500
Residential. Acquired 15 September 2021 by limited recourse borrowing arrangement (LRBA), as recorded. Title 12/SP84021. Record demo-pro, recorded 15 Sept 2021.
Valuation for the year: none recorded.
Property evidence: 2 of 4 items present: insurance certificate, lease or rent evidence; missing: valuation, loan statement
Expected items come from the evidence expectations engine for the fund's shape; present items are documents on the fund's register, satisfied evidence requests, and valuation or rent records that carry evidence.
Valuation trail (append-only)
| As at | Value recorded | Evidence kind | Evidence document | Record |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 30 June 2026 | $915,000.00 | Formal valuation | Yes | demo-val, recorded 3 July 2026 |
| 30 June 2026 | $902,000.00 | Comparable sales | Yes | demo-val, recorded 1 July 2026 |
| 30 June 2025 | $862,500.00 | Agent letter | Yes | demo-val, recorded 5 July 2025 |
| 30 June 2024 | $815,000.00 | Kerbside appraisal | No | demo-val, recorded 8 July 2024 |
Leases
| Tenant | Rent per period | Frequency | Term | Related party | Record |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| K. and D. Naylor | $620.00 | fortnightly | 4 Apr 2026 to open | No | demo-lea, recorded 4 Apr 2026 |
Rent periods in the pack period
| Period | Expected | Received | Status | Receipt and match |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 4 Apr 2026 to 17 Apr 2026 | $620.00 | $620.00 | Received | demo-pc- (6 Apr 2026), match demo-rm- |
| 18 Apr 2026 to 1 May 2026 | $620.00 | $620.00 | Received | demo-pc- (20 Apr 2026), match demo-rm- |
| 2 May 2026 to 15 May 2026 | $620.00 | $620.00 | Received | demo-pc- (4 May 2026), match demo-rm- |
| 16 May 2026 to 29 May 2026 | $620.00 | $620.00 | Received | demo-pc- (18 May 2026), match demo-rm- |
| 30 May 2026 to 12 June 2026 | $620.00 | - | Not received | - |
| 13 June 2026 to 26 June 2026 | $620.00 | $620.00 | Received | demo-pc- (15 June 2026), match demo-rm- |
| 27 June 2026 to 10 July 2026 | $620.00 | $620.00 | Receipt found, not confirmed | demo-pc- (29 June 2026) |
Outgoings in the pack period
| Date | Description as recorded | Amount | Class | Record |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 11 Apr 2026 | WOLLONGONG CITY COUNCIL RATES Q4 | -$845.00 | deductible expense (confirmed) | demo-pc-, recorded 11 Apr 2026 |
| 30 Apr 2026 | LOAN INT CHARGED LRBA FACILITY | -$2,134.00 | loan interest (confirmed) | demo-pc-, recorded 30 Apr 2026 |
| 8 May 2026 | LANDLORD INSURANCE RENEWAL 12 MTH | -$1,320.00 | deductible expense (confirmed) | demo-pc-, recorded 8 May 2026 |
| 21 May 2026 | BATHROOM RENOVATION STAGE 1 PROGRESS CLAIM | -$18,900.00 | capital works (confirmed) | demo-pc-, recorded 21 May 2026 |
| 2 June 2026 | PLUMBER REPAIR HOT WATER SYSTEM | -$459.00 | deductible expense (suggested) | demo-pc-, recorded 2 June 2026 |
| 18 June 2026 | EFT TRANSFER REF 88213 | -$125.00 | uncategorised (suggested) | demo-pc-, recorded 18 June 2026 |
Capital works register
| Incurred | Description as recorded | Amount | Source ledger line | Record |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 6 Nov 2023 | Concrete driveway and crossover | $8,640.00 | - | demo-cw-, recorded 6 Nov 2023 |
| 21 May 2026 | Bathroom renovation, stage 1 | $18,900.00 | demo-pc- | demo-cw-, recorded 21 May 2026 |
Register, as recorded
7.Contributions and member balances as recorded
Records reproduced as the trustee recorded them at generation time. Nothing here is valued, estimated or reconciled by SMSF Core.
Totals are the caps module's sums of the recorded rows for each financial year; the cap position is the module's own assessment of those sums against the published caps for that year. Where the module states no position, its reason is printed instead.
Member A, FY 2025-26
Concessional recorded: $1,150.00. Non-concessional recorded: $0.00.
Latest recorded member balance: $4,200,000.00 as at 30 June 2026. Record demo-tsb, recorded 30 June 2026.
Concessional cap position (caps module): cap $30,000.00, carry-forward available $0.00, used $1,150.00, remaining $28,850.00.
Non-concessional cap position: not stated. No total super balance recorded on or before the prior 30 June; the caps module withholds the non-concessional assessment rather than assume a bring-forward tier.
Contribution records: 3 of 5 items present: contribution rows recorded for the year, every contribution row dated, member balance recorded; missing: total super balance at the prior 30 June, member date of birth on the register
Counts the records the caps module reads to state a position; the fund's document register holds no rule family for contribution documents.
| Contributed | Type as recorded | Amount | Record |
|---|---|---|---|
| 16 June 2026 | concessional | $1,150.00 | demo-con, recorded 16 June 2026 |
Member A, FY 2026-27
Concessional recorded: $1,150.00. Non-concessional recorded: $0.00.
Latest recorded member balance: $4,200,000.00 as at 30 June 2026. Record demo-tsb, recorded 30 June 2026.
Concessional cap position (caps module): cap $32,500.00, carry-forward available $0.00, used $1,150.00, remaining $31,350.00.
Non-concessional cap position (caps module): cap $0.00, used $0.00, remaining $0.00.
Contribution records: 4 of 5 items present: contribution rows recorded for the year, every contribution row dated, total super balance at the prior 30 June, member balance recorded; missing: member date of birth on the register
Counts the records the caps module reads to state a position; the fund's document register holds no rule family for contribution documents.
| Contributed | Type as recorded | Amount | Record |
|---|---|---|---|
| 6 July 2026 | concessional | $1,150.00 | demo-con, recorded 6 July 2026 |
Member B, FY 2025-26
Concessional recorded: $0.00. Non-concessional recorded: $0.00.
Latest recorded member balance: $1,850,000.00 as at 30 June 2026. Record demo-tsb, recorded 30 June 2026.
Concessional cap position (caps module): cap $30,000.00, carry-forward available $0.00, used $0.00, remaining $30,000.00.
Non-concessional cap position: not stated. No total super balance recorded on or before the prior 30 June; the caps module withholds the non-concessional assessment rather than assume a bring-forward tier.
Contribution records: 1 of 5 items present: member balance recorded; missing: contribution rows recorded for the year, every contribution row dated, total super balance at the prior 30 June, member date of birth on the register
Counts the records the caps module reads to state a position; the fund's document register holds no rule family for contribution documents.
No contribution rows recorded for the year.
Member B, FY 2026-27
Concessional recorded: $0.00. Non-concessional recorded: $0.00.
Latest recorded member balance: $1,850,000.00 as at 30 June 2026. Record demo-tsb, recorded 30 June 2026.
Concessional cap position (caps module): cap $32,500.00, carry-forward available $0.00, used $0.00, remaining $32,500.00.
Non-concessional cap position (caps module): cap $260,000.00, used $0.00, remaining $260,000.00.
Contribution records: 2 of 5 items present: total super balance at the prior 30 June, member balance recorded; missing: contribution rows recorded for the year, every contribution row dated, member date of birth on the register
Counts the records the caps module reads to state a position; the fund's document register holds no rule family for contribution documents.
No contribution rows recorded for the year.
Sources the module cites
- ATO-CC-CAP-FY27: listed on the ATO source citations page of a generated pack
- ATO-NCC-CAP-FY27: listed on the ATO source citations page of a generated pack
- ATO-GENERAL-TBC-FY27: listed on the ATO source citations page of a generated pack
Register, as recorded
8.Pension accounts as recorded
Records reproduced as the trustee recorded them at generation time. Nothing here is valued, estimated or reconciled by SMSF Core.
The minimum is the pension module's computation from the recorded opening balance and the member's age (SISR Schedule 7 percentage table, rounded to the nearest $10). Payments are the rows recorded against the account for the year; whether they reached the fund's bank is outside this pack.
None recorded.
Sources the module cites
- SISR-SCH7-MIN-DRAWDOWN: listed on the ATO source citations page of a generated pack
Reference list
9.ATO sources cited
- ITAA 1936 s 160APHO(2)(a)(i)
- ITAA 1936 s 160APHO(2)(a)(ii)
- ITAA 1997 Div 207 s 207-20(1)
- ITAA 1936 s 160APHI(4)
Generation snapshot
10.Calculation provenance
Every figure in a pack is traceable to the run that produced it. This is the provenance record, with the sample's own values.
- Calculation run
- AP-SAMPLE-001A generated pack mints a reference of the form AP-YYYY-MM-DD-NNN and logs the calculation run against it, so a figure can be traced back to one run.
- Snapshot schema version
- 5The version of the frozen snapshot contract this build writes. A reader years from now uses it to know which sections the pack carries.
- Calculation engine version
- Not recorded on the sampleThe engine stamps its version on every stored parcel-dividend match, and a pack prints the latest stamp in scope. The sample fund is a fixture and never runs against the database, so it carries no stamp.
- Snapshot hash (SHA-256)
- Not recorded on the sampleA pack hashes the canonical JSON of its own frozen snapshot and prints the digest, so the file can be rehashed later and shown to be unaltered. The sample is not a generated snapshot.
- Parcels in ledger
- 7Holdings reproduced from the ledger, all acquisition dates.
- Dividend events
- 8Dividend events falling inside the reporting period.
- Parcel-dividend matches
- 2LIFO matches behind the featured dividend. A pack carries every match in the period.
- Integrity flags raised
- NonePer-dividend integrity checks appear in section 5; a pack states the count here.
- Properties on the register
- 1Property register rows reproduced as recorded, with valuations, leases, rent periods, outgoings and capital works.
- Pension accounts
- None recordedPension records for the years the period touches. The sample fund records none, and the pack says so rather than leaving the section out.
Rules applied, and the source behind each
| Rule applied | Source text | Source verified |
|---|---|---|
| ITAA 1936 s 160APHO(2)(a)(i) | https://www.legislation.gov.au/Series/C1936A00027 | Not recorded on the sample |
| ITAA 1936 s 160APHO(2)(a)(ii) | https://www.legislation.gov.au/Series/C1936A00027 | Not recorded on the sample |
| ITAA 1997 Div 207 s 207-20(1) | https://www.legislation.gov.au/Series/C2004A05138 | Not recorded on the sample |
| ITAA 1936 s 160APHI(4) | https://www.legislation.gov.au/Series/C1936A00027 | Not recorded on the sample |
A generated pack records, for each source above, the date the text was last read against the ATO corpus and the corpus version it was read from. The sample fund carries no verification dates, so those cells say so rather than carrying a date nothing stands behind.
Indirect franked income
11.Trust distributions
Franked distributions a fund receives indirectly through trusts or partnerships (ITAA 1997 s 207-35 / s 207-45; annual-return Label M). A real pack lists each holding with the trust statement's franked amount and franking credit alongside the engine's assessable amount, offset and NALI flag.
No trust distributions recorded for this period.
ASIC Instrument 2026/41